Continent Burkina Faso


Why Travel Burkina Faso?

Burkina Faso is a landlocked country in West Africa. It covers an area of around 274,200 square kilometres and is surrounded by six countries: Mali to the north; Niger to the east; Benin to the southeast; Togo and Ghana to the south; and Ivory Coast to the southwest. Its capital is Ouagadougou. Formerly called the Republic of Upper Volta (1958-1984), the country was renamed "Burkina Faso" on 4 August 1984 by then-President Thomas Sankara. The citizens of Burkina Faso are known as Burkinabé A poor country even by West African standards, landlocked Burkina Faso has suffered from recurring droughts and military coups. Burkina Faso, which means "land of honest men", has significant reserves of gold, but the country has faced domestic and external concern over the state of its economy and human rights. A former French colony, it gained independence as Upper Volta in 1960. Major languages French, indigenous languages. Major religions Indigenous beliefs, Islam, Christianity. A few places of Interest : Reserve de Nazinga (Ouagadougou) Nature & Wildlife Areas; Les Cascades de Banfora (Banfora), Les Pics de Sindou, Laongo Sculpture Symposium (Ouagadougou), Mosque of Bobo-Dioulasso, Parc Urbain Bangr-Weoogo (Ouagadougou), Mare aux Hippopotames (Bobo Dioulasso), Ouagadougou Markets (Ouagadougou) Flea & Street Markets, Karfiguela Falls (Banfora) Waterfalls, Cathedral of Ouagadougou, Grande Mosquee de Ouagadougou, Musee d'Issouka (Koudougou) Speciality Museums, The Grand Mosque at Bani, FasoParc (Ouagadougou), BIblioteca OLVIDO (Ouahigouya) Cathedrale Notre Dame de Lourdes (Bobo Dioulasso), The Ruins of Loropeni - Ancient Ruins

Talk to us any time

Map & Location